Awards & Accolades

Since their inception in 1945, the AAAS Science Journalism Awards have honored distinguished reporting on science by professional journalists. The awards, an internationally recognized measure of excellence in science journalism, go to individuals (rather than institutions, publishers or employers) for coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics.

Learn more here.

AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

Prize:  Gold Prize for In-Depth Reporting

Bergen International Film Festival

Prize:  Gold Golden Owl Award

The Golden Owl is awarded by the Bergen International Film Festival (BIFF) and the University of Bergen. The prize is given to the best science documentary for its ability to successfully convey science and research topics to audiences. The need for research-based knowledge as a foundation for the central topics of our time lies at the core of The Golden Owl. 

Learn more here.

SILBERSALZ Science & Media Festival

Prize:  Best International Documentary Feature

SILBERSALZ is the first international Science & Media festival of its kind. As a combination festival and conference, SILBERSALZ makes science accessible in a clear and vivid fashion while simultaneously serving as a platform for the exchange of ideas and mutual inspiration. The aim of SILBERSALZ is to provide the general public with access to scientific topics and to allow them to ask questions, thereby promoting a lively and active engagement with science in general.

Learn more here.

silbersalz laurels.png

Nominations & Official Selections

Rotten Tomatoes



The Washington Post Top 10 Films of the Year (2019) read more

PBS Independent Lens’ #1 Rated Documentary of the Year (2020) read more